The state’s new lottery law takes effect today, but ticket sales aren’t expected to begin until sometime next year.

Governor Matt Mead today named the board of directors for the Wyoming Lottery Corporation, which will set up the lottery according to regulations passed in the last legislative session.

The board members include newspaper publisher Dave Bonner of Powell, Brian Scott of K2 Radio in Casper, IT expert Jim Griffin of Casper and Cheyenne attorney Mark Macy.

Other board members include Riverton CPA Gerry Marburger, Torrington rancher Ross Newman, former Taco Johns CEO Barry Simms of Cheyenne, economic expert Erin Taylor of Cheyenne and Jim Whalen from Jackson. Whalen is the Teton County Sheriff.

The governor’s office says the board will begin work immediately to develop plans and implement the lottery in Wyoming.