Four individuals and a set of brothers are among the 11th class of inductees into the Wyoming Sports Hall of Fame.


The induction ceremony is at 6:30 p.m. June 23 at the Parkway Plaza Hotel in Casper. Cocktails and a silent auction start at 5 p.m.

The newest class includes former University of Wyoming football standouts Casey Bramlet of Wheatland and David Edeen of Cheyenne; multi-state standout and coach Bruce Collins of Rock Springs; long-time Rawlins High volleyball coach Sandy Jebens and brothers Ben and Blaine Phillips of Sheridan.

The Athlete of the Year award went to Cheyenne’s Brandon Nimmo, who was the 12th overall pick of the New York Mets in last year’s Major League Baseball Draft. The Lifetime Achievement Award went to Paul Eastridge of Casper, who has been involved in American Legion baseball in Wyoming for the last five decades.


Casey Bramlet

The Wheatland High School graduate remains the most prolific passer in University of Wyoming history.

Bramlet played at Wyoming from 2000-03) and holds career records in passing yards (9,684), pass attempts (1,378), pass completions (767), touchdown passes (56) and career yards (9,675).

Bramlet was drafted in the seventh round of the 2004 NFL Draft by the Cincinnati Bengals. He played professional football from 2004-09 with six different NFL teams. He also played one season in NFL Europe and was the World Bowl Most Valuable Player in 2007 for the Hamburg Sea Devils. He most recently was with the Winnipeg Blue Bombers of the Canadian Football League.

In high school Bramlet earned all-state honors in football and basketball.


Bruce Collins

One of the best athletes to come out of the state in the mid-1970s out of Rock Springs High School.

A multi-sport standout in Rock Springs, Collins played basketball at Weber State in Odgen, Utah, from 1976-80 and remains the Wildcats’ career scoring leader with 2,019 points. He’s the only player in school history to score more than 2,000 points. Collins also is Weber State’s career leader in field goals made with 823 and is third with 879 rebounds.

Collins also remains the second-leading scorer in Big Sky Conference history, and helped the Wildcats win to Big Sky Conference championships and three NCAA Tournament appearances.


David Edeen

The Cheyenne Central graduate walked-on to the University of Wyoming football team in the mid-1980s and ended up a First-Team All-Western Athletic Conference defensive lineman as a senior 1988. That Wyoming squad won its second consecutive Western Athletic Conference title with an undefeated league mark, and also played in its second straight Holiday Bowl.

Edeen tied for second on the team with 11 sacks in 1988. Thirty-four of his 43 tackles were solo stops and he was second on the team with 22 quarterback hurries. Edeen was one of three Wyoming defensive linemen to earn All-WAC honors in 1988.

Edeen had 10 sacks and 13 quarterback hurries in nine games in 1987 for the Cowboys.

Edeen was an all-state defensive end and tight end at Cheyenne Central, and also was all-state in track in the discus.


Sandy Jebens

One of the most successful high school volleyball coaches the state has ever produced.

Jebens was the head coach at Rawlins High School for 30 years and has a career record of 554-246-30. Jebens’ teams have won three state championships and been runner-up seven times.

She coached 60 all-conference players, 43 all-state players and 38 that went on to play volleyball in college. Rawlins qualified for the state tournament 21 consecutive years while she was the coach.

Jebens didn’t play volleyball in high school because it wasn’t offered at her school in South Dakota. She also didn’t play the sport in college at Black Hills State. She was introduced to the sport taking a coaching fundamentals class in college.


Ben and Blaine Phillips

Two of the most decorated high school pair of brothers to come out of Sheridan and the state in the early to mid-1990s.

Both were Wyoming Gatorade Player of the Year award winners in football.

Ben, the younger of the brothers, led Sheridan to its third consecutive state football championship in 1992 and a top 25 national ranking by USA Today. As a senior Ben threw for 1,717 yards and 20 touchdowns, and also finished with 2,175 all-purpose yards and 27 touchdowns.

Blaine won the Milward Simpson Award as the state’s top male prep athlete.


Athlete of the Year: Brandon Nimmo

The Cheyenne product was selected with the 12th overall pick by the New York Mets in last June’s Major League Baseball Draft – the highest ever for any baseball player in Wyoming.

Helped the Cheyenne Post 6 American Legion baseball team win its third straight state title in 2011. In 63 games Nimmo hit .551 with 14 home runs, 99 RBI, 23 doubles and 16 triples. During his Post 6 career, Nimmo played in 271 games, hit .485 with 40 home runs, 333 RBI, 89 doubles and 45 triples.


Lifetime Achievement Award: Paul Eastridge

Has been involved in youth baseball for the last five decades, mostly in Casper but also statewide.

Eastridge started umpiring American Legion and Babe Ruth baseball in the 1960s. He helped start the Casper American Legion Board in 1968 and has served as chairman. In the 1970s he served as an American Legion District Chairman, was appointed Wyoming’s Vice-Chairman in 1984 and the state’s Chairman in 1994 – at title he’s still holds.

Eastridge has helped run seven American Legion Regional Tournaments and two American Legion World Series. He also helped improve baseball facilities around the state in Casper, Wheatland, Torrington, Rock Springs, Worland and Gillette.


More From My Country 95.5